Seattle DUI Attorney
I want to take this time to thank Deborah Alexander. Her professionalism and services were such a great help to me that I cannot find words to express my gratitude to her. She helped me fighting a DUI case that was very stressful to me.
She achieved the best possible results for me and I learned quite a bit about myself through the whole ordeal. She is very pleasing, listens, advises and most of all cares about the individual.
I would absolutely recommend her to whoever needs to have their legal problems solved.
– Client charged with a DUI
- How is DUI Determined?
- What can I Expect if I am Stopped for DUI in Seattle Area?
- If You Are Stopped For a DUI by an Officer, This is What You Should Do...
- What If I Refuse to Take the Breath or Blood Test?
If DUI is suspected, the amount of alcohol in the driver's blood is measured by a breath or blood test. The driver will be cited for DUI if the results are:
- .08 or higher for adults
- .02 or higher for minors (under 21)
If you are topped for suspected DUI, the law enforcement officer may:
- ask if you have consumed any alcohol or drug-related substances.
- ask you to take a field sobriety test.
- ask you to submit to a breath test. If you blood alcohol content is .08 or higher, you may be cited and taken to jail. You also may request to have a blood test.
- You are not required to answer potentially incriminating questions.
- Be polite. You can say, "I would like to speak with a lawyer before answering questions."
- Field Sobriety (coordination) tests are VOLUNTARY.
- Submitting to a Portable breath test is VOLUNTARY.
- Breath test at police station - If you refuse, your driver's license can be suspended for a minimum of 1 year. Prior DUI's can increase the revocation to 2 years.
If you refuse to take the test, your license will be revoked. When you operate a motor vehicle in Washington State, you automatically give consent to have your breath or blood tested if a law enforcement officer believes you have been driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
A person drives under the influence of alcohol or a drug if such a person drives a vehicle in Washington State with a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or greater within two hours after driving or if the person's driving is impaired from the consumption of alcohol or the taking of a drug.